Search for Arkansas marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 for women and 17 for men with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military ID card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No if over 18, 5 days if under 18
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Divorce decree or death certificate required
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Arkansas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is valid. Marriage ceremonies can be conducted immediately, since there is no waiting period in Arkansas. The couple must return the completed and signed marriage license to the Arkansas County Clerk within 60 days of the wedding date. Arkansas marriage license can be used anywhere in the state, but must be returned for records to the office of issue.
How do I get a marriage license in Arkansas?
You will need to visit a County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be present and meet age requirements, present valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Arkansas?
The fee for a marriage license in Arkansas is $60 across all counties. The usual payment method is cash however, specific counties may offer payment alternatives.
How old do you have to be to get married in Arkansas?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 for women or 17 for men to get married in Arkansas. Individuals under the age of 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Arkansas?
Yes. Women who are 16 or 17 and men who are 17 can get married in Arkansas with parental or guardian consent from both parents or from a single guardian or custodian when the minor has only one parent due to death, divorce, or abandonment. If the woman is pregnant or has given birth, and both partners are under the age of 18, a Circuit Court Judge can issue a court order to authorize the marriage.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Arkansas.
Who can legally marry you in Arkansas?
Weddings can only be performed in Arkansas by officiants who are legally authorized to perform marriages in the state. Officiants are typically judges, government employees, or religious authorities.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Arkansas does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Arkansas?
There is no waiting period to receive a marriage license. However, if both partners are under the age of 18, there is a 5 day waiting period. You must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Arkansas marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
All previously married applicants for a marriage license in Arkansas must submit a divorce decree or a death certificate with the marriage license application.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Arkansas.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Arkansas?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is permitted in Arkansas.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in Arkansas.
Is Arkansas a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized in Arkansas.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Arkansas state or county government, the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.