Search for Louisiana marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: The Clerk of the Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $25
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Louisiana, at least one member of the couple must visit a Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. If only one member of the couple applies in person, that individual must provide valid documents for both members of the couple. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the clerk of the court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Louisiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple applies in person, he or she will have to provide valid documents for both members of the couple, including proof of age and photo identification. You will also be required to pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Louisiana?
A marriage license costs approximately $25 in Louisiana. The price varies according to the parish.
How old do you have to be to get married in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Louisiana?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they obtain parental or guardian consent. Parents are required to appear in person and provide photo identification. Individuals under the age of 16 can get married with parental consent from both parents and a court order signed by a state district judge.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Louisiana.
Who can legally marry you in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be religious authorities who have registered with the district court or with the Health Department in New Orleans, or government officials, such as a justice of the peace or judge.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Louisiana, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Louisiana?
There is a 72 hour waiting period in Louisiana between when you apply for the marriage license and when you can perform a marriage ceremony. You must perform the ceremony before the license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Louisiana marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Louisiana, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed and Louisiana requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate. All certificates must be printed in English.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Louisiana.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Louisiana?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Louisiana.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Louisiana.
Is Louisiana a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Louisiana.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Louisiana state or county government, the Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.