Search for Jefferson Parish, LA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Jefferson Parish Marriage License 200 Derbigny Street Gretna LA 70053 504-364-2900
Grand Isle Town Hall 134 Ludwig Lane Grand Isle LA 70358 985-787-2130
Gretna City Hall 200 Huey P Long Avenue Gretna LA 70053 504-363-1500
Jackson Parish Clerk PO Box 10 Gretna LA 70054 337-824-1160
Jean Lafitte Town Hall 2654 Jean Lafitte Boulevard Jean Lafitte LA 70067 504-689-2208
Jefferson Parrish Health Department 1855 Ames Blvd Marrero LA 70072 504-349-8802
Jefferson Parrish Health Department 3616 South I-10 Service Road West Metairie LA 70001 504-838-5257
Kenner City Hall 1801 Williams Boulevard Kenner LA 70062 504-468-7240
Kenner Clerk 1801 Williams Blvd Kenner LA 70062 504-468-7277
Metairie Health Department 1450 L and A Road Metairie LA 70001 504-838-5300
Westwego City Hall 419 Avenue A Westwego LA 70094 504-341-3424
1. Apply where: The Clerk of the Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $25
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Louisiana, at least one member of the couple must visit a Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. If only one member of the couple applies in person, that individual must provide valid documents for both members of the couple. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the clerk of the court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson Parish, Louisiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple applies in person, he or she will have to provide valid documents for both members of the couple, including proof of age and photo identification. You will also be required to pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Louisiana?
A marriage license costs approximately $25 in Louisiana. The price varies according to the parish.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson Parish?
In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.