Search for Iberia Parish, LA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Iberia Parish Marriage License 300 South Iberia Street New Iberia LA 70560 337-365-7282
Iberia Parish Clerk of Court 300 South Iberia Street New Iberia LA 70560 337-365-7282
Jeanerette City Clerk 1010 Main Street Jeanerette LA 70544 337-276-4587
New Iberia City Hall 457 East Main Street New Iberia LA 70560 337-369-2334
New Iberia Health Department 1200 David Street New Iberia LA 70560 337-380-2441
1. Apply where: The Clerk of the Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $25
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Louisiana, at least one member of the couple must visit a Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. If only one member of the couple applies in person, that individual must provide valid documents for both members of the couple. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the clerk of the court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Iberia Parish, Louisiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple applies in person, he or she will have to provide valid documents for both members of the couple, including proof of age and photo identification. You will also be required to pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Louisiana?
A marriage license costs approximately $25 in Louisiana. The price varies according to the parish.
How old do you have to be to get married in Iberia Parish?
In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.