Orleans Parish Marriage Licenses

Search for Orleans Parish LA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Louisiana Marriage License Vital Records Registry, P.O. Box 60630 New Orleans LA 70160 504-593-5100


Orleans Parish Marriage License 421 Loyola Avenue New Orleans LA 70112 504-592-9100

Jefferson Parish Clerk 1221 Elmwood Park Boulevard New Orleans LA 70123 504-736-6397

Louisiana State Health Department 1010 Common Street New Orleans LA 70112 504-568-8405

Natchitoches Parish Clerk 421 Loyola Avenue New Orleans LA 70112 504-407-0000

New Orleans City Hall 1300 Perdido Street New Orleans LA 70112 504-658-4000

New Orleans Health Department 517 North Rampart Street New Orleans LA 70112 504-658-2540

Orleans Parish Clerk 2700 Tulane Avenue New Orleans LA 70119 504-658-9000

St Gabriel Town Hall 5035 Iberville St New Orleans LA 70119 225-642-9600

St Tammany Parish Clerk 400 Royal Street New Orleans LA 70130 504-310-2300

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: The Clerk of the Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $25

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 72 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Orleans Parish Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Louisiana, at least one member of the couple must visit a Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. If only one member of the couple applies in person, that individual must provide valid documents for both members of the couple. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the clerk of the court that issued the license.

How do I get a marriage license in Orleans Parish, Louisiana?

You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple applies in person, he or she will have to provide valid documents for both members of the couple, including proof of age and photo identification. You will also be required to pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Louisiana?

A marriage license costs approximately $25 in Louisiana. The price varies according to the parish.

How old do you have to be to get married in Orleans Parish?

In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.