Search for Avoyelles Parish, LA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Avoyelles Parish Marriage License 301 South Main Street Marksville LA 71351 318-253-7523
Assumption Parish Clerk PO Box 219 Marksville LA 71351 318-253-7523
Avoyelles Health Department 657 Government Street Marksville LA 71351 318-253-4528
Cottonport City Hall 931 Bryan Street Cottonport LA 71327 318-876-3356
Evergreen Town Hall 1008 Cotton Street Evergreen LA 71333 318-346-9844
Hessmer Town Hall 4142 Bordelon Street Hessmer LA 71341 318-563-4511
Mansura Town Hall 1832 L'Eglise Street Mansura LA 71350 318-964-2152
Plaucheville City Hall 146 Gin Street Plaucheville LA 71362 318-922-3111
Simmesport City Hall 372 Mission Drive Simmesport LA 71369 318-941-2493
1. Apply where: The Clerk of the Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $25
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Louisiana, at least one member of the couple must visit a Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. If only one member of the couple applies in person, that individual must provide valid documents for both members of the couple. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the clerk of the court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple applies in person, he or she will have to provide valid documents for both members of the couple, including proof of age and photo identification. You will also be required to pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Louisiana?
A marriage license costs approximately $25 in Louisiana. The price varies according to the parish.
How old do you have to be to get married in Avoyelles Parish?
In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.