Terrebonne Parish Marriage Licenses

Search for Terrebonne Parish LA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Terrebonne Parish Marriage License 7856 West Main Street Houma LA 70360 985-868-5660


Loisiana Clerk 7856 West Main Street Houma LA 70360 985-868-5660

Louisiana Health Department 5593 Louisiana 311 Houma LA 70360 985-857-3615

Tensas Parish Clerk PO Box 1569 Houma LA 70361 985-868-5660

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: The Clerk of the Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $25

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 72 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Terrebonne Parish Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Louisiana, at least one member of the couple must visit a Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. If only one member of the couple applies in person, that individual must provide valid documents for both members of the couple. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the clerk of the court that issued the license.

How do I get a marriage license in Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana?

You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple applies in person, he or she will have to provide valid documents for both members of the couple, including proof of age and photo identification. You will also be required to pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Louisiana?

A marriage license costs approximately $25 in Louisiana. The price varies according to the parish.

How old do you have to be to get married in Terrebonne Parish?

In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.