Search for Mississippi marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Circuit Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 21, or 15 for women and 17 for men with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20-$25; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 6 months, or sooner with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Mississippi, both members of the couple must visit the Circuit Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. There is no waiting period to use a marriage license, and it does not expire. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit the completed document to the proper government office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, the couple can order a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Mississippi?
You will need to visit the Circuit Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present photo identification, and pay a fee. Mississippi requires the consent of one or both parents for all individuals under the age of 21.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Mississippi?
The exact cost for a marriage license varies by county. Most counties charge between $20 and $25 dollars for the license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Mississippi?
Women must reach the minimum age of 15 and men must be at least 17 in order to get married. All individuals under 21 are required to have the consent of at least one parent.
Can you get married under 18 in Mississippi?
Yes. Individuals who are between the ages of 18 and 21 must have the consent of at least one parent or legal guardian in order to get married. Women who are between 15 and 18 and men who are 17 are required to have the consent of both parents or legal guardians in order to get married.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Mississippi.
Who can legally marry you in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, wedding officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, such as judges, mayors, or local Board of Supervisor members. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Mississippi.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Mississippi does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Mississippi?
There is no waiting period to receive a marriage license. You will be granted a valid license as soon as you complete the required paperwork.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
Marriage licenses do not expire in Mississippi.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
Individuals who have been married previously will need to disclose all prior marriages on the marriage license application, including the location and date of the end of the marriage. If a prior marriage ended within six months of applying for a new marriage license, you will need to bring official documentation of the end of the marriage, such as a divorce decree or a death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Mississippi.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Mississippi?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Mississippi.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in Mississippi.
Is Mississippi a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Mississippi.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Mississippi state or county government, the Mississippi Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.