Search for Monroe County, MS marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Monroe County Marriage License 201 West Commerce Street Aberdeen MS 39730 601-369-8695
Aberdeen City Hall 125 West Commerce Street Aberdeen MS 39730 662-369-8588
Gattman Town Hall 50005 Mayor Street Gattman MS 38844 662-257-1003
Monroe County Clerk PO Box 518 Amory MS 38821 662-256-8493
Monroe County Clerk 201 West Commerce Street Aberdeen MS 39730 662-369-3681
Monroe County Health Department 1300 Mississippi 25 Amory MS 38821 662-256-5341
Monroe County Health Department 403 South Main Street Amory MS 38821 662-256-8833
Monroe Health Department 302 South Chestnut Street Aberdeen MS 39730 662-369-8132
Nettleton City Hall 124 Short Ave Nettleton MS 38858 662-963-2605
Nettleton Clerk 124 Short Ave Nettleton MS 38858 662-963-2168
Smithsville City Clerk 63443 Mississippi 25 Smithville MS 38870 662-651-4411
Smithville Town Hall 63443 Mississippi 25 Smithville MS 38870 662-651-4411
1. Apply where: Circuit Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 21, or 15 for women and 17 for men with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20-$25; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 6 months, or sooner with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Mississippi, both members of the couple must visit the Circuit Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. There is no waiting period to use a marriage license, and it does not expire. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit the completed document to the proper government office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, the couple can order a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Monroe County, Mississippi?
You will need to visit the Circuit Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present photo identification, and pay a fee. Mississippi requires the consent of one or both parents for all individuals under the age of 21.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Mississippi?
The exact cost for a marriage license varies by county. Most counties charge between $20 and $25 dollars for the license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monroe County?
Women must reach the minimum age of 15 and men must be at least 17 in order to get married. All individuals under 21 are required to have the consent of at least one parent.