Search for Newton County, MS marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Newton County Marriage License 92 Broad St Decatur MS 39327 601-635-2368
Chunky Town Hall 24 N Commerce St Chunky MS 39323 601-655-8376
Decatur City Hall 66 Seventh Ave Decatur MS 39327 601-635-2761
Hickory City Hall 180 JEFFERSON St Hickory MS 39332 601-646-2211
Mississippi State Health Department 75 Wic Rd Decatur MS 39327 601-635-2129
Newton City Clerk 203 East Church Street Newton MS 39345 601-683-6181
Newton County Clerk PO Box 69 Decatur MS 39327 601-635-2927
Newton County Health Department 500 Decatur Street Newton MS 39345 601-683-3331
Newton County Health Department 15776 Mississippi 15 Decatur MS 39327 601-635-2337
Union City Clerk 404 Bank Street Union MS 39365 601-774-9422
1. Apply where: Circuit Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 21, or 15 for women and 17 for men with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20-$25; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 6 months, or sooner with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Mississippi, both members of the couple must visit the Circuit Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. There is no waiting period to use a marriage license, and it does not expire. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit the completed document to the proper government office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, the couple can order a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Newton County, Mississippi?
You will need to visit the Circuit Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present photo identification, and pay a fee. Mississippi requires the consent of one or both parents for all individuals under the age of 21.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Mississippi?
The exact cost for a marriage license varies by county. Most counties charge between $20 and $25 dollars for the license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Newton County?
Women must reach the minimum age of 15 and men must be at least 17 in order to get married. All individuals under 21 are required to have the consent of at least one parent.