Search for Vermont marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Vermont, both members of the couple must visit a City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If you are a Vermont resident, you must apply in your town of residence. Non-residents may apply in any town. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in Vermont. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Vermont?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Residents must apply at their local office, while non-residents can apply in any town. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Vermont?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in the state of Vermont.
How old do you have to be to get married in Vermont?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Vermont. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of a parent or guardian.
Can you get married under 18 in Vermont?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can marry in Vermont with the signed consent of a parent or legal guardian. The parent must appear in person at the City or Town Clerk's Office, provide valid photo identification, and sign an affidavit. Individuals under the age of 16 are not allowed to marry in Vermont.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Vermont.
Who can legally marry you in Vermont?
In Vermont, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, including judges, justices, or justices of the peace. Officiants must be registered with the Secretary of State to solemnize Vermont marriages. Anyone over the age of 18 can become a temporary officiant by applying for a license with the Secretary of State and paying a $100 registration fee.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Vermont does not require witnesses for a marriage to be valid.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Vermont?
There is no waiting period for obtaining a marriage license in Vermont. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Vermont marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced? In Vermont, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and Vermont clerks may require proof of the end of prior marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Vermont.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Vermont?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Vermont.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Vermont.
Is Vermont a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Vermont.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Vermont state or county government, the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.