Search for Massachusetts marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by city
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Massachusetts, both members of the couple must visit the City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one person is unable to attend due to military service, incarceration, or hospitalization, a resident of Massachusetts can file without the other member of the couple. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authorities.
How do I get a marriage license in Massachusetts?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple is able to attend, due to military service, incarceration, or hospitalization, the other member must be a Massachusetts resident and will need to provide proof of both people's ages and identification. You are also required to pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Massachusetts?
The fee to get a marriage license in Massachusetts is approximately $50. The exact cost varies by location.
How old do you have to be to get married in Massachusetts?
In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can apply for an exception with the local probate or district court.
Can you get married under 18 in Massachusetts?
Yes. Individuals who are under the age of 18 can petition the local probate court or district court for an exception in order to get married. Minors must apply in the city or township where they are a resident. The individual will only be allowed to marry if the petition is approved by a judge.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Massachusetts.
Who can legally marry you in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts recognizes certain individuals as officiants of legal marriages. These include religious authorities, Justice of the Peace, and anyone approved for an One Day Marriage Designation.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The commonwealth of Massachusetts does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Massachusetts?
Once the application is complete, it takes 3 days to obtain the marriage license. The waiting period can be waived with a Marriage Without Delay Waiver, which costs an additional $195 and must be approved by the clerk. You must get married before your marriage license expires, and the license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Massachusetts marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Massachusetts, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, all previous marriages must be disclosed, and Massachusetts requires certified proof of the end of prior marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Massachusetts.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Massachusetts?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Massachusetts.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Massachusetts.
Is Massachusetts a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the commonwealth of Massachusetts.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Massachusetts state or county government, the Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.