Essex County Marriage Licenses

Search for Essex County MA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Andover Marriage License Andover Town Clerk, 36 Bartlet Street Andover MA 01810 978-623-8255


Boxford Marriage License Boxford Town Clerk, 7A Spofford Road Boxford MA 01921

Danvers Marriage License Danvers Town Clerk, 1 Sylvan Street Danvers MA 01923

Essex Marriage License Essex Town Clerk, 30 Martin Street Essex MA 01929 978-768-7111

Georgetown Marriage License Georgetown Town Clerk, 1 Library Street Georgetown MA 01833 978-352-5711

Groveland Marriage License 183 Main Street Groveland MA 01834

Amesbury Town Hall 62 Friend Street Amesbury MA 01913 978-388-8100

Andover Health Department 36 Bartlet Street Andover MA 01810 978-623-8295

Andover Town Clerk 36 Bartlet Street Andover MA 01810 978-623-8200

Andover Town Hall 36 Bartlet Street Andover MA 01810 978-623-8200

Beverly City Hall 191 Cabot Street Beverly MA 01915 978-921-6000

Beverly Clerk 191 Cabot Street Beverly MA 01915 978-921-6037

Beverly Health Department 90 Colon Street Beverly MA 01915 978-921-8591

Boxford Health Department 200 Washington Street Boxford MA 01921 978-352-2413

Boxford Town Hall 7 Spofford Road Boxford MA 01921 978-352-6555

Byfield Town Hall 7 Central Street Newbury MA 01922 978-463-3335

Danvers Town Hall 1 Sylvan Street Danvers MA 01923 978-777-0001

Essex County Clerk 56 Federal Street Salem MA 01970 978-744-5500

Essex Town Hall 30 Martin Street Essex MA 01929 978-768-7410

Georgetown Town Clerk 1 Library Street Georgetown MA 01833 978-352-5711

Gloucester City Hall 9 Dale Avenue Gloucester MA 01930 978-281-9710

Gloucester Clerk 9 Dale Avenue Gloucester MA 01930 978-281-9722

Gloucester Health Department 3 Pond Road Gloucester MA 01930 978-281-9771

Hamilton Town Clerk 577 Bay Road Hamilton MA 01982 978-468-5570

Haverhill City Clerk 4 Summer Street Haverhill MA 01830 978-374-2312

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by city

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Essex County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Massachusetts, both members of the couple must visit the City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one person is unable to attend due to military service, incarceration, or hospitalization, a resident of Massachusetts can file without the other member of the couple. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authorities.

How do I get a marriage license in Essex County, Massachusetts?

You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple is able to attend, due to military service, incarceration, or hospitalization, the other member must be a Massachusetts resident and will need to provide proof of both people's ages and identification. You are also required to pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Massachusetts?

The fee to get a marriage license in Massachusetts is approximately $50. The exact cost varies by location.

How old do you have to be to get married in Essex County?

In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can apply for an exception with the local probate or district court.