Search for Suffolk County, MA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Boston Marriage License Boston City Clerk, 1 City Hall Square, Rm. 213 Boston MA 02108 617-635-4179
Winthrop Marriage License Winthrop Town Clerk, 1 Metcalf Square, Room 8 Winthrop Town MA 02152 617-846-1742
Boston City Clerk 1 City Hall Square Boston MA 02201 617-635-4600
Boston City Hall 1 City Hall Square Boston MA 02201 617-635-4000
Boston Globe City Hall 1 City Hall Square Boston MA 02108 617-936-3554
Boston Health Department 305 South Street Boston MA 02130 617-983-6200
Chelsea City Hall 500 Broadway Chelsea MA 02150 617-466-4000
Chelsea City Health Department 500 Broadway Chelsea MA 02150 617-889-8263
Chelsea Clerk 500 Broadway Chelsea MA 02150 617-466-4054
Massachusetts Clerk 1 Pemberton Square Boston MA 02108 617-557-1020
Massachusetts Health Department 20 Vining Street Boston MA 02115 617-626-9200
Revere City Hall 281 Broadway Revere MA 02151 781-286-8100
Revere Clerk 281 Broadway Revere MA 02151 781-286-8162
Revere Health Department 249 Broadway Revere MA 02151 781-286-8176
Roxbury City Hall 1483 Tremont St Roxbury Crossing MA 02120 617-635-4920
Suffolk County Clerk 3 Pemberton Square Boston MA 02108 617-788-8175
Winthrop Health Department 1 Metcalf Square Winthrop Town MA 02152 617-846-1740
Winthrop Town Hall 1 Metcalf Sq Winthrop Town MA 02152 617-846-4344
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or younger with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by city
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Massachusetts, both members of the couple must visit the City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one person is unable to attend due to military service, incarceration, or hospitalization, a resident of Massachusetts can file without the other member of the couple. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authorities.
How do I get a marriage license in Suffolk County, Massachusetts?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. If only one member of the couple is able to attend, due to military service, incarceration, or hospitalization, the other member must be a Massachusetts resident and will need to provide proof of both people's ages and identification. You are also required to pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Massachusetts?
The fee to get a marriage license in Massachusetts is approximately $50. The exact cost varies by location.
How old do you have to be to get married in Suffolk County?
In Louisiana, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can apply for an exception with the local probate or district court.