Search for Nebraska marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 19, or 17 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $25
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 1 year
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, for half cousins
12. Divorce/Widow: 6 months for those divorced in Nebraska
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Nebraska, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is approved, the marriage license is issued immediately. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Nebraska?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Nebraska?
The fee for obtaining a marriage license in Nebraska is $25.
How old do you have to be to get married in Nebraska?
You must reach the minimum age of 17 to get married in Nebraska. Individuals who are between 17 and 19 must have parental or guardian consent to get married. Individuals who are 19 or older can get married without additional consent.
Can you get married under 18 in Nebraska?
Yes. Individuals who are between 17 and 19 can be married with the consent of both custodial parents or legal guardians. The parents will be required to sign a notarized consent form.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Nebraska.
Who can legally marry you in Nebraska?
The state of Nebraska recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities and government officials, including judges and magistrates. The officiant is not required to be a Nebraska resident and officiants do not need to register with the state to perform marriage ceremonies.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Nebraska, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Nebraska?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for one year.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Nebraska marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Nebraska, there is only a waiting period after the end of a marriage for individuals who were divorced in the state of Nebraska. If your divorce occurred in Nebraska, you must wait six months and one day before you are eligible to apply for a new marriage license. There is no waiting period to apply for a new marriage license if your divorce was in another state or if the marriage ended due to death or annulment. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, including the date of the end of the marriage.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Nebraska.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Nebraska?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Nebraska.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. Half-cousins are permitted to marry in Nebraska. However, full cousins are not allowed to marry.
Is Nebraska a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Nebraska.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Nebraska state or county government, the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.