Clay County Marriage Licenses

Search for Clay County NE marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Clay County Clerk 111 West Fairfield Street Clay Center NE 68933 402-762-3651


Clay County Health Department 209 West Fairfield Street Clay Center NE 68933 402-762-3571

Edgar City Hall 508 3rd Street Edgar NE 68935 402-224-5145

Glenvil Village Clerk 201 Winters Avenue Glenvil NE 68941 402-771-2283

Sutton City Clerk 107 West Grove Street Sutton NE 68979 402-773-4225

Trumbull City Hall 131 Main Street Trumbull NE 68980 402-743-2221

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 19, or 17 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $25

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 1 year

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, for half cousins

12. Divorce/Widow: 6 months for those divorced in Nebraska

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Clay County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Nebraska, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is approved, the marriage license is issued immediately. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Clay County, Nebraska?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Nebraska?

The fee for obtaining a marriage license in Nebraska is $25.

How old do you have to be to get married in Clay County?

You must reach the minimum age of 17 to get married in Nebraska. Individuals who are between 17 and 19 must have parental or guardian consent to get married. Individuals who are 19 or older can get married without additional consent.