Douglas County Marriage Licenses

Search for Douglas County NE marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Bennington City Hall 15514 Warehouse Street Bennington NE 68007 402-238-2470


Douglas County Clerk 1701 Farnam Street Omaha NE 68183 402-444-5387

Douglas County Health Department 1111 South 41st Street Omaha NE 68105 402-444-7750

Elkhorn City Clerk 401 Glenn Street Omaha NE 68022 402-289-2678

Omaha City Hall 1819 Farnam Street Omaha NE 68183 402-444-7000

Valley City Hall 203 North Spruce Street Valley NE 68064 402-359-2251

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 19, or 17 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $25

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 1 year

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, for half cousins

12. Divorce/Widow: 6 months for those divorced in Nebraska

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Douglas County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Nebraska, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is approved, the marriage license is issued immediately. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Douglas County, Nebraska?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Nebraska?

The fee for obtaining a marriage license in Nebraska is $25.

How old do you have to be to get married in Douglas County?

You must reach the minimum age of 17 to get married in Nebraska. Individuals who are between 17 and 19 must have parental or guardian consent to get married. Individuals who are 19 or older can get married without additional consent.