Search for Maryland marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant
3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 2 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.
How do I get a marriage license in Maryland?
You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?
A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Maryland?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.
Can you get married under 18 in Maryland?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 are allowed to marry in Maryland if they have the consent of at least one parent or legal guardian. If they cannot obtain parental consent, individuals between 16 and 18 are permitted to marry if they can prove pregnancy with a letter from a licensed physician. Individuals who are 15 must have parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician in order to marry.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Maryland.
Who can legally marry you in Maryland?
In Maryland, officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, such as deputy clerks and judges. Ministers and priests do not need to receive any special licenses to serve as officiants in Maryland.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Maryland does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Maryland?
The clerk will give the couple a marriage license before leaving the office, but that license may not be used in Maryland prior to its effective date. The license becomes effective at 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar day after the license is issued. You must get married before your marriage license expires, and the license is valid for six months.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Maryland marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Maryland, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed, and Maryland requires certified proof of the end of all prior marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not legal in Maryland.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Maryland?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Maryland.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Maryland.
Is Maryland a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Maryland.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Maryland state or county government, the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.