Search for Montgomery County, MD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Montgomery County Marriage License 50 Maryland Avenue Rockville MD 20850 240-777-9460
Barnesville Town Hall 18001 Barnesville Road Barnesville MD 20838 240-489-3036
Chevy Chase Town Hall 4301 Willow Lane Chevy Chase MD 20815 301-654-7144
Gaithersburg City Hall 31 South Summit Avenue Gaithersburg MD 20877 301-258-6300
Glen Echo Town Hall 6106 Harvard Avenue Glen Echo MD 20812 301-320-4041
Kensington Town Hall 3710 Mitchell Street Kensington MD 20895 301-949-2424
Laytonsville Town Hall 21607 Laytonsville Road Gaithersburg MD 20882 301-869-0042
Montgomery County Clerk 50 Maryland Avenue Rockville MD 20850 240-777-9464
Montgomery County Health Department 1301 Piccard Drive Rockville MD 20850 240-777-1355
Montgomery County Local Health Department 2000 Dennis Avenue Silver Spring MD 20902 240-777-1790
Poolesville Town Hall 19721 Beall St Poolesville MD 20837 301-428-8927
Rockville City Hall 111 Maryland Avenue Rockville MD 20850 240-314-5000
Somerset Town Hall 4510 Cumberland Avenue Chevy Chase MD 20815
Somerset Town Hall 4510 Cumberland Avenue Chevy Chase MD 20815 301-657-3211
Takoma Park City Hall 7500 Maple Avenue Takoma Park MD 20912 301-891-7100
Washington Grove Town Hall 300 Grove Avenue Washington Grove MD 20880 301-926-2256
1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant
3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 2 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.
How do I get a marriage license in Montgomery County, Maryland?
You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?
A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Montgomery County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.