Dorchester County Marriage Licenses

Search for Dorchester County MD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Dorchester County Marriage License 206 High Street Cambridge MD 21613 410-228-0480


Cambridge City Hall 410 Academy Street Cambridge MD 21613 410-228-4020

Dorchester County Clerk 206 High Street Cambridge MD 21613 410-228-0481

East New Market Town Hall 10 ACADEMY St East New Market MD 21631 410-943-8112

Hurlock Town Hall 311 Charles Street Hurlock MD 21643 410-943-4181

Vienna Town Hall 214 Middle Street Vienna MD 21869 410-376-3442

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant

3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 2 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Dorchester County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.

How do I get a marriage license in Dorchester County, Maryland?

You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?

A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Dorchester County?

You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.