Cecil County Marriage Licenses

Search for Cecil County MD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Cecil County Marriage License 129 East Main Street Elkton MD 21921 410-996-1021


Cecil County Clerk 129 East Main Street Elkton MD 21921 410-996-3023

Cecilton Town Hall 117 West Main Street Cecilton MD 21913 410-275-2692

Charlestown Hall 241 Market Street Charlestown MD 21914 410-287-6173

Elkton Town Hall 110 North Street Elkton MD 21921 410-398-4200

North East Town Hall 106 S Main St North East MD 21901 410-287-5801

Perryville Town Hall 515 Broad Street Perryville MD 21903 410-642-6066

Port Deposit City Hall 64 South Main Street Port Deposit MD 21904 410-378-2121

Port Deposit Town Hall 64 South Main Street Port Deposit MD 21904 410-378-2121

Rising Sun Town Hall 1 East Main Street Rising Sun MD 21911

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant

3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 2 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Cecil County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.

How do I get a marriage license in Cecil County, Maryland?

You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?

A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Cecil County?

You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.