Kent County Marriage Licenses

Search for Kent County MD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Kent County Marriage License 103 North Cross Street Chestertown MD 21620 410-778-7460


Betterton Town Hall 3 3rd Avenue Betterton MD 21610 410-348-5522

Chestertown Hall 118 North Cross Street Chestertown MD 21620 410-778-0500

Galena Town Hall 101 North Main Street Galena MD 21635 410-648-5151

Kent County Clerk 103 North Cross Street Chestertown MD 21620 410-778-7460

Kent County Health Department 125 South Lynchburg Street Chestertown MD 21620 410-778-1350

Rock Hall Town Hall 5585 North Main Street Rock Hall MD 21661 410-639-7611

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant

3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 2 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Kent County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.

How do I get a marriage license in Kent County, Maryland?

You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?

A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Kent County?

You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.