Search for Frederick County, MD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Frederick County Marriage License 100 West Patrick Street Frederick MD 21701 301-600-1976
Brunswick City Hall 1 West Potomac Street Brunswick MD 21716 301-834-7500
Brunswick Town Hall 20 E A St Brunswick MD 21716 301-834-9101
Frederick City Hall 101 North Court Street Frederick MD 21701 301-694-1440
Frederick County Clerk 100 West Patrick Street Frederick MD 21701 301-600-1976
Frederick Health Department 350 Montevue Lane Frederick MD 21702 301-600-3342
Myersville Town Hall 301 Main Street Myersville MD 21773 301-293-4281
Walkersville Town Hall 21 West Frederick Street Walkersville MD 21793 301-845-4500
1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant
3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 2 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.
How do I get a marriage license in Frederick County, Maryland?
You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?
A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Frederick County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.