Search for Washington County, MD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Washington County Marriage License 24 Summit Avenue Hagerstown MD 21740 301-733-8660
Clear Spring Town Hall 146 Cumberland Street Clear Spring MD 21722 301-842-2252
Funkstown Town Hall 30 East Baltimore Street Hagerstown MD 21740 301-791-0948
Hagerstown City Hall Ste 1, 1 E Franklin St Hagerstown MD 21740 301-790-3200
Keedysville Town Hall 19 South Main Street Keedysville MD 21756 301-432-5795
Sharpsburg Town Hall 106 East Main Street Sharpsburg MD 21782 301-432-4428
Smithsburg Town Hall 21 West Water Street Smithsburg MD 21783 301-824-7234
Washington County Clerk 95 West Washington Street Hagerstown MD 21740 301-733-8660
Williamsport City Hall 2 North Conococheague Street Williamsport MD 21795 301-223-7711
1. Apply where: Circuit Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and/or a physician letter if pregnant
3. Cost/fees: $25-$55; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 2 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maryland, both members of the couple must visit a Circuit Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the Circuit Court Clerk who issued the license. Once the Clerk records the license, the marriage is legally binding.
How do I get a marriage license in Washington County, Maryland?
You will need to visit the Circuit Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maryland?
A marriage license can cost between $25 and $55 in Maryland. The fee is set by the county. Maryland requires that you get married in the county that issued the marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Washington County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Maryland. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, and individuals who are 15 must provide parental consent and proof of pregnancy from a licensed physician.