Search for Maine marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Maine?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Maine?
Yes. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent. Both parents or guardians must appear at the Municipal Clerk's office or give consent in writing that has been notarized. If either member of the couple is under 16, the Municipal Clerk's office must notify the Judge of Probate. If the Judge does not provide written objections, the couple is permitted to marry.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Maine.
Who can legally marry you in Maine?
Maine allows a range of people to serve as wedding officiants. Officiants can be religious authorities, judges or justices, notaries licensed in Maine, or lawyers who are members of the Maine Bar.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Maine, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Maine?
There is no waiting period to receive a marriage license in Maine. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 90 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Maine marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Maine, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed and Maine requires certified proof of the date of divorce or annulment, or the date of death, prior to receiving a new marriage license.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Maine.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Maine?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Maine.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. You can marry your first cousin in Maine.
Is Maine a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Maine.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Maine state or county government, the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.