Search for Hancock County, ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hancock County Marriage License Hancock County Courthouse, 50 State Street Ellsworth ME 04605 207-667-7176
Aurora Town Hall 70 Old Airline Road Aurora ME 04408 207-584-2431
Bar Harbor Town Clerk 93 Cottage Street Bar Harbor ME 04609 207-288-4098
Blue Hill Town Hall 18 Union Street Blue Hill ME 04614 207-374-2281
Brooksville Town Hall 1 Town House Road Brooksville ME 04617 207-326-4518
Bucksport Town Clerk 50 Main Street Bucksport ME 04416 207-469-7368
Deer Isle Town Clerk CHURCH St Deer Isle ME 04627 207-348-9398
Ellsworth City Hall 1 City Hall Avenue Ellsworth ME 04605 207-667-8674
Ellsworth Clerk 50 State Street Ellsworth ME 04605 207-667-7176
Franklin Town Hall 34 Main St Franklin ME 04634 207-565-3663
Hancock County Clerk 50 State Street Ellsworth ME 04605
Lamoine Town Hall 606 Douglas Hwy Lamoine ME 04605 207-667-2242
Mariaville Town Hall 1686 Mariaville Road Mariaville ME 04605 207-537-2107
Penobscot Town Hall 1 Southern Bay Road Penobscot ME 04476 207-326-4364
Sorrento Town Hall 79 Pomola Avenue Sorrento ME 04677 207-422-6889
Southwest Harbor Town Hall 26 Village Green Way Southwest Harbor ME 04679 207-244-5404
Sullivan Town Clerk 1888 U.s. 1 Sullivan ME 04664 207-422-6282
Surry Town Hall 741 N Bend Rd Surry ME 04684 207-667-5912
Swans Island Town Hall 125 Harbor Rd Swans Island ME 04685 207-526-4279
Tremont Town Hall 20 Harbor Drive Tremont ME 04653 207-244-7204
Trenton Town Hall 59 Oak Point Rd Trenton ME 04605 207-667-7207
Verona Town Hall 16 School Street Bucksport ME 04416 207-469-7965
Winter Harbor Town Hall 23 Harbor Road Winter Harbor ME 04693 207-963-2235
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Hancock County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hancock County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.