Search for Kennebec County, ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kennebec County Marriage License Kennebec County Courthouse, 95 State Street Augusta ME 04330 207-561-2300
Augusta City Clerk 16 Cony Street Augusta ME 04330 207-626-2310
Augusta Health Department 35 Anthony Avenue Augusta ME 04330 207-624-8050
Clinton Town Hall 27 Baker Street Clinton ME 04927 207-426-8511
Farmingdale Town Hall 289 Maine Avenue Farmingdale ME 04344 207-582-2225
Hallowell City Hall 1 Winthrop St Hallowell ME 04347 207-623-4021
Kennebec County Clerk 125 State Street Augusta ME 04330
Vassalboro Town Clerk 682 Main Street Vassalboro ME 04989 207-873-6217
Vassalboro Town Hall 114 Benton Avenue Winslow ME 04901 207-872-1960
Vassalboro Town Hall 682 Main Street Vassalboro ME 04989 207-872-2826
Waterville City Clerk 1 Common Street Waterville ME 04901 207-680-4213
Waterville City Hall 1 Common Street Waterville ME 04901 207-680-4200
Winthrop Town Clerk 17 Highland Avenue Winthrop ME 04364 207-377-7200
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Kennebec County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kennebec County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.