Search for Washington County, ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Washington County Marriage License Washington County Courthouse, 47 Court Street Machias ME 04654 207-255-3127
Alexander Town Hall 50 Cooper Road Alexander ME 04694 207-454-3011
Calais Health Department 392 South Street Calais ME 04619 207-454-9000
Charlotte Town Hall 232 Charlotte Road Charlotte ME 04666 207-454-2114
Columbia Town Hall EPPING Rd Columbia Falls ME 04623 207-483-6587
Cutler Town Hall 2655 Cutler Road Cutler ME 04626 207-259-3693
Eastport City Clerk 78 High Street Eastport ME 04631 207-853-2300
Eastport City Hall 78 High Street Eastport ME 04631 207-853-2300
Machias Town Clerk 12 Main Street Machias ME 04654 207-255-6621
Machiasport Town Clerk 8 Unity Sq Machiasport ME 04655 207-255-4516
Roque Bluffs Town Hall 3 Roque Bluffs Road Roque Bluffs ME 04654 207-255-3330
Washington County Clerk 83 Court Street Machias ME 04654
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Washington County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Washington County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.