Search for York County, ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
York County Marriage License York County Courthouse, 45 Kennebunk Pond Road Alfred ME 04002 207-324-5122
Alfred Town Clerk 16 Saco Road Alfred ME 04002 207-324-5872
Arundel Town Hall 468 Limerick Road Arundel ME 04046 207-985-4201
Berwick Town Hall 11 Sullivan Street Berwick ME 03901 207-698-1101
Biddeford City Clerk 205 Main Street Biddeford ME 04005 207-284-9307
Buxton Town Clerk 185 Portland Road Buxton ME 04093 207-929-6171
Buxton Town Hall 185 Portland Road Buxton ME 04093 207-929-5151
Dayton Town Hall 33 Clarks Mills Road Dayton ME 04005 207-499-7526
Eliot Town Hall 1333 State Rd Eliot ME 03903 207-439-0162
Kennebunk Town Clerk 1 Summer Street Kennebunk ME 04043 207-985-3675
Kennebunk Town Hall 1 Summer Street Kennebunk ME 04043 207-985-2102
Lebanon Town Hall 9 Little River Road Lebanon ME 04027 207-457-1915
Limerick Town Hall 55 Washington Street Limerick ME 04048 207-793-2655
Limington Town Hall 425 Sokokis Avenue Limington ME 04049 207-637-2171
Lyman Town Clerk 11 South Waterboro Road Lyman ME 04002 207-499-7562
Ogunquit Town Clerk 23 School Street Ogunquit ME 03907 207-646-5139
Old Orchard Beach Town Hall 1 Portland Avenue Old Orchard Beach ME 04064 207-934-5714
Old Orchard Town Clerk 1 Portland Avenue Old Orchard Beach ME 04064 207-934-4042
Parsonsfield Town Hall 62 Federal Street Parsonsfield ME 04047 207-625-4558
Saco City Clerk 300 Main Street Saco ME 04072 207-284-4831
Sanford Town Hall 919 Main Street Sanford ME 04073 207-324-9100
South Berwick Town Hall 180 Main Street South Berwick ME 03908 207-384-3300
Wells Town Hall 208 Sanford Road Wells ME 04090 207-646-5113
York County Clerk 1 Layman Way Alfred ME 04002
York Town Hall 186 York Street York ME 03909 207-363-1000
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in York County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in York County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.