Search for Lincoln County, ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Lincoln County Marriage License Lincoln County Courthouse, 32 High Street Wiscasset ME 04578 207-882-6311
Jefferson Town Hall 58 Washington Road Jefferson ME 04348 207-549-7401
Lincoln County Clerk PO Box 611 Wiscasset ME 04578
Nobleboro Town Hall 192 U.s. 1 Nobleboro ME 04555 207-563-8816
Somerville Town Hall 665 Patricktown Rd Somerville ME 04348 207-549-3828
Southport Town Clerk 361 Hendricks Hill Road Southport ME 04576 207-633-6311
Whitefield Town Hall 36 Townhouse Rd Whitefield ME 04353 207-549-5175
Wiscasset town Hall 51 Bath Road Wiscasset ME 04578 207-882-8200
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Lincoln County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lincoln County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.