Search for Waldo County, ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Waldo County Marriage License Waldo County Courthouse, 39 Spring Street Belfast ME 04915 207-338-3282
Belfast City Hall 131 Church Street Belfast ME 04915 207-338-3370
Burnham Town Hall S HORSEBACK Rd Burnham ME 04922 207-948-2730
Frankfort Town Hall 48 Main Road North Frankfort ME 04438 207-223-5546
Freedom Town Hall 71 Pleasant Street Freedom ME 04941 207-382-6177
Jackson Town Hall MOOSEHEAD Trl Jackson ME 04921 207-722-3439
Knox Town Hall 10 Abbott Rd Knox ME 04986 207-568-3907
Linconville Town Hall 493 Hope Rd Lincolnville ME 04849 207-763-3555
Monroe Town Hall 8 Swan Lake Avenue Monroe ME 04951 207-525-3515
Montville Town Hall 414 Center Road Montville ME 04941 207-342-5544
Norhport Town Clerk 16 Beech Hill Road Northport ME 04849 207-338-3819
Palermo Town Hall 45 N Palermo Rd Palermo ME 04354 207-993-2296
Prospect Town Hall 958 Bangor Road Prospect ME 04981 207-567-3661
Swanville Town Hall 6 Town House Road Swanville ME 04915 207-338-5834
Thorndike Town Hall 125 Mount View Road Thorndike ME 04986 207-568-3656
Troy Town Hall 129 Rogers Road Troy ME 04987 207-948-2283
Waldo County Clerk 39B Spring Street Belfast ME 04915
Winterport Town Hall 20 School Street Winterport ME 04496 207-223-5055
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Waldo County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Waldo County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.