Search for Somerset County ME marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Somerset County Marriage License Somerset County Courthouse, 41 Court Street Skowhegan ME 04976 207-474-5161
Athens Town Hall 28 Academy St Athens ME 04912 207-654-3471
Fairfield Town Clerk 19 Lawrence Avenue Fairfield ME 04937 207-453-7346
Madison Town Clerk 26 Weston Avenue Madison ME 04950 207-696-5622
Skowhegan Town Clerk 225 Water Street Skowhegan ME 04976 207-474-6902
Skowhegan Town Hall 225 Water Street Skowhegan ME 04976 207-474-6900
Solon Town Clerk 121 S Main St Solon ME 04979 207-643-2812
Somerset County Clerk 131 East Madison Road Madison ME 04950
1. Apply where: Municipal Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Maine, you must first file a marriage intentions application at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Residents must file their intentions to marry in the municipality where at least one of them resides. Out-of-state applicants can file at any municipal office. Both members of the couple must apply in person, and provide proof of age, photo identification, and pay a fee. After filing the marriage intentions application, the couple will receive a marriage license, and must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license application and submit it to the Municipal Clerk's Office within seven days of the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a marriage license in Somerset County, Maine?
You will need to visit the Municipal Clerk's Office to file a marriage intentions application. Both members of the couple must present proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Maine?
It costs $40 to apply for a marriage license in Maine.
How old do you have to be to get married in Somerset County?
In Maine, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.