Search for Kentucky marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 if pregnant with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Kentucky, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk.
How do I get a marriage license in Kentucky?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, a valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kentucky?
In Kentucky, it costs approximately $35 to receive a marriage license. The fee is set by the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kentucky?
You must reach the minimum age of 16, or be pregnant if under the age of 16, to get married in Kentucky. Individuals who are under the age of 18 will need parental consent and official approval to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Kentucky?
Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must fill out a â€œConsent to Marriageâ€ form, which must be signed by one parent or the legal guardians, two witnesses over the age of 18, and a deputy clerk. If the minor's parents are divorced, custody papers are required. Individuals who are under 16 but who are pregnant can get married with a court order from the District Court judge as well as consent from the parents. Minors are not allowed to marry in Kentucky if their parents are not Kentucky residents.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Kentucky.
Who can legally marry you in Kentucky?
In Kentucky, officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, such as justices and judges. Ministers and priests do not need to receive any special licenses to serve as officiants in Kentucky.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Kentucky, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Kentucky?
There is no waiting period to receive a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Kentucky marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Kentucky, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application and Kentucky requires proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Kentucky.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Kentucky?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Kentucky. However, some counties refuse to award marriage licenses to same-sex couples.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Kentucky.
Is Kentucky a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the commonwealth of Kentucky.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Kentucky state or county government, the Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.