Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Jefferson County KY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Jefferson County Marriage License 527 West Jefferson Street Louisville KY 40202 502-574-5700


Jefferson County Clerk 527 West Jefferson Street Louisville KY 40202 502-574-5566

Jefferson County Clerk 10616 West Manslick Road Louisville KY 40118 502-574-5700

Jefferson County Clerk 9455 Westport Road Louisville KY 40241 502-574-5700

Jefferson County Health Department 400 East Gray Street Louisville KY 40202 502-574-6520

Louisville City Hall 527 West Jefferson Street Louisville KY 40202 502-574-2003

Lynnview City Hall 1241 Gilmore Lane Louisville KY 40213 502-966-4086

St Matthews City Hall 3940 Grandview Ave St. Matthews KY 40207 502-895-9444

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 if pregnant with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Kentucky, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk.

How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, Kentucky?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, a valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kentucky?

In Kentucky, it costs approximately $35 to receive a marriage license. The fee is set by the county.

How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16, or be pregnant if under the age of 16, to get married in Kentucky. Individuals who are under the age of 18 will need parental consent and official approval to get married.