Search for Indiana marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental approval and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $18 for residents, $60 if one or both are non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65 years old
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Indiana, both members of the couple must visit a Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee differs depending on whether both members of the couple are Indiana residents or not. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authorities. You will then be able to order a marriage certificate from the Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Indiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age and photo identification, as well as proof of residency to pay the discounted Indiana resident fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Indiana?
If both members of the couple are Indiana residents, the marriage license will cost $18. If one or both are not Indiana residents, the license will cost $60.
How old do you have to be to get married in Indiana?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Indiana. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Indiana?
Yes. Individuals who are 17 are required to have parental consent to get married. Both parents must visit the Clerk's Office to sign the consent form as part of the application process. Individuals who are 15 or 16 must petition the Circuit Court with a â€œPermission to Marryâ€ form. The Circuit Court requires a non-refundable $124 fee to hear permission to marry pleas, and there is no guarantee that the judge will allow the minor(s) to marry.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Indiana.
Who can legally marry you in Indiana?
In Indiana, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can include religious authorities and government officials, such as judges, magistrates, mayors, or clerks.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Indiana does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Indiana?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Indiana marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
Individuals who have been previously married must disclose all prior marriages, including the date the marriage ended and the reason for the end of the marriage. In some counties, a divorce decree will be required for marriages that ended within two years of applying for a new marriage license.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Indiana.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Indiana?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Indiana. However, it is slightly more difficult than in some other states.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. However, it is only permitted for cousins who are over the age of 65.
Is Indiana a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Indiana.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Indiana state or county government, the Indiana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.