Search for Posey County IN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Posey County Marriage License 300 Main Street Mount Vernon IN 47620 812-838-1306
Cynthiana Town Hall 10868 Main Street Cynthiana IN 47612 812-845-2924
Griffin Town Clerk 205 South Main Street Griffin IN 47616 812-851-5228
Mt Vernon City Hall 520 Main Street Mount Vernon IN 47620 812-838-3317
Posey County Clerk 300 Main Street Mount Vernon IN 47620 812-838-1306
Posey County Health Department 126 East 3rd Street Mount Vernon IN 47620 812-838-1328
Poseyville City Clerk 38 West Main Street Poseyville IN 47633 812-874-2211
Uniontown City Hall 237 Main Street Mount Vernon IN 47620 270-822-4277
1. Apply where: Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental approval and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $18 for residents, $60 if one or both are non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65 years old
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Indiana, both members of the couple must visit a Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee differs depending on whether both members of the couple are Indiana residents or not. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authorities. You will then be able to order a marriage certificate from the Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Posey County, Indiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age and photo identification, as well as proof of residency to pay the discounted Indiana resident fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Indiana?
If both members of the couple are Indiana residents, the marriage license will cost $18. If one or both are not Indiana residents, the license will cost $60.
How old do you have to be to get married in Posey County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Indiana. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order to get married.