Search for Clark County, IN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Clark County Marriage License 501 East Court Avenue Jeffersonville IN 47130 812-285-6309
Borden Town Hall 129 West Street Borden IN 47106 812-967-2234
Clark County Clerk 501 East Court Avenue Jeffersonville IN 47130 812-285-6244
Clark County Health Department 1319 Duncan Avenue Jeffersonville IN 47130 812-282-7521
Clarksville Town Clerk 2000 Broadway Street Clarksville IN 47129 812-283-1500
Clarksville Town Hall 2000 Broadway Street Clarksville IN 47129 812-288-7155
Sellersburg Town Clerk 316 East Utica Street Sellersburg IN 47172 812-246-7049
Sellersburg Town Hall 316 East Utica Street Sellersburg IN 47172 812-246-3821
Sellersburg Town Hall 103 South New Albany Street Sellersburg IN 47172 812-246-3821
Utica Town Hall 107 North 4th Street Utica IN 47130 812-288-5110
1. Apply where: Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental approval and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $18 for residents, $60 if one or both are non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65 years old
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Indiana, both members of the couple must visit a Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee differs depending on whether both members of the couple are Indiana residents or not. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authorities. You will then be able to order a marriage certificate from the Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Clark County, Indiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age and photo identification, as well as proof of residency to pay the discounted Indiana resident fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Indiana?
If both members of the couple are Indiana residents, the marriage license will cost $18. If one or both are not Indiana residents, the license will cost $60.
How old do you have to be to get married in Clark County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Indiana. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order to get married.