Search for Porter County IN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Porter County Marriage License 16 Lincolnway Valparaiso IN 46383 219-465-3450
Beverly Shores Clerk 500 South Broadway Chesterton IN 46304 219-872-0046
Beverly Shores Town Hall 500 Broadway Chesterton IN 46304 219-728-6531
Bums Harbor Town Clerk 310 Navajo Trail Burns Harbor IN 46304 219-787-8591
Hebron Town Clerk 106 West Sigler Street Hebron IN 46341 219-996-4641
Hebron Town Hall 106 East Sigler Street Hebron IN 46341 219-996-4644
Kouts Town Hall 210 South Main Street Kouts IN 46347 219-766-3312
Portage City Hall 6070 Central Avenue Portage IN 46368 219-762-5425
Porter Clerk 303 Franklin Street Porter IN 46304 219-926-2771
Porter County Clerk 16 Lincolnway Valparaiso IN 46383 219-465-3450
Porter County Health Department 3560 Willowcreek Road Portage IN 46368 219-759-8239
Valparaiso City Hall 166 Lincolnway Valparaiso IN 46383 219-462-1161
Wanatah Town Hall 104 North Main Street Kouts IN 46347 219-733-2340
1. Apply where: Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental approval and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $18 for residents, $60 if one or both are non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65 years old
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Indiana, both members of the couple must visit a Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee differs depending on whether both members of the couple are Indiana residents or not. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authorities. You will then be able to order a marriage certificate from the Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Porter County, Indiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age and photo identification, as well as proof of residency to pay the discounted Indiana resident fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Indiana?
If both members of the couple are Indiana residents, the marriage license will cost $18. If one or both are not Indiana residents, the license will cost $60.
How old do you have to be to get married in Porter County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Indiana. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order to get married.