Search for Johnson County, IN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Johnson County Marriage License Main Courthouse - 1St Floor, 5 E. Jefferson St. Franklin IN 46131 317-346-4467
Greenwood City Clerk 2 North Madison Avenue Greenwood IN 46142 317-888-2100
Johnson County Clerk 5 East Jefferson Street Franklin IN 46131 317-346-4450
Johnson County Health Department 86 West Court Street Franklin IN 46131 317-346-4365
New Whiteland Town Hall Ste 1, 401 Mooreland Dr Whiteland IN 46184 317-535-9487
Prince's Lake Town Hall 14 E Lakeview Dr Nineveh IN 46164 317-933-2163
Trafalgar Town Hall 800 S Indian Creek Dr Trafalgar IN 46181 317-878-5194
Whiteland Town Hall 549 East Main Street Whiteland IN 46184 317-535-5531
1. Apply where: Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental approval and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $18 for residents, $60 if one or both are non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65 years old
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Indiana, both members of the couple must visit a Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee differs depending on whether both members of the couple are Indiana residents or not. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authorities. You will then be able to order a marriage certificate from the Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Johnson County, Indiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age and photo identification, as well as proof of residency to pay the discounted Indiana resident fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Indiana?
If both members of the couple are Indiana residents, the marriage license will cost $18. If one or both are not Indiana residents, the license will cost $60.
How old do you have to be to get married in Johnson County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Indiana. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order to get married.