Search for Elkhart County, IN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Elkhart County Marriage License 101 North Main Street Goshen IN 46526 574-535-6438
Bristol Town Hall 303 East Vistula Street Bristol IN 46507 574-848-7007
Elkhart City Clerk 229 South 2nd Street Elkhart IN 46516 574-522-5272
Elkhart City Hall 229 South 2nd Street Elkhart IN 46516 574-522-5272
Elkhart County Clerk 101 North Main Street Goshen IN 46526 574-535-6469
Elkhart County Health Department 608 Oakland Avenue Elkhart IN 46516 574-523-2127
Middlebury Town Hall 418 North Main Street Middlebury IN 46540 574-825-1499
Millersburg Town Clerk 201 West Washington Street Millersburg IN 46543 574-642-3976
Nappanee City Hall 300 West Lincoln Street Nappanee IN 46550 574-773-2112
Nappanee Clerk 300 West Lincoln Street Nappanee IN 46550 574-773-2112
Wakarusa Clerk 100 West Waterford Street Wakarusa IN 46573 574-862-4314
Wakarusa Town Hall 100 West Waterford Street Wakarusa IN 46573 574-862-2245
1. Apply where: Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental approval and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $18 for residents, $60 if one or both are non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65 years old
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Indiana, both members of the couple must visit a Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application.You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee differs depending on whether both members of the couple are Indiana residents or not. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authorities. You will then be able to order a marriage certificate from the Clerk's Office.
How do I get a marriage license in Elkhart County, Indiana?
You will need to visit the Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age and photo identification, as well as proof of residency to pay the discounted Indiana resident fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Indiana?
If both members of the couple are Indiana residents, the marriage license will cost $18. If one or both are not Indiana residents, the license will cost $60.
How old do you have to be to get married in Elkhart County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Indiana. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order to get married.