Search for Colorado marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 15 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 35 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days, signed divorce decree
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Colorado, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Certain counties allow online marriage license applications. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant, or the couple for self- solemnized marriages, will fill out the marriage license. The couple must submit the signed marriage license to the issuing office within 63 days.
How do I get a marriage license in Colorado?
You will need to visit the county probate judge or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present valid identification documents, and pay a fee. Some counties in Colorado allow online marriage license applications.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Colorado?
The cost to receive a marriage license in Colorado is $30. If you fail to return the marriage license within 63 days of your ceremony, you may be subject to late fees.
How old do you have to be to get married in Colorado?
You must reach the minimum age of 15 to get married in Colorado. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental or guardian consent, and 15-year-olds must also present a court order.
Can you get married under 18 in Colorado?
Yes. Individuals between 16 and 18 can get married if they provide a notarized parental consent form signed by both parents, or the legal custodian or guardian. Individuals who are 15 can get married with a court order in addition to parental consent.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Colorado.
Who can legally marry you in Colorado?
In Colorado, marriage partners can self-solemnize the marriage by following the instructions of the local County Clerk's Office. Other wedding officiants must be recognized by the state, and include judges, government officials, and religious authorities.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Colorado does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Colorado?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. The couple has 35 days to solemnize the marriage and between 60 and 63 days, depending on the county, to return the marriage certificate to the County Clerk's office of issue.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
The marriage license in Colorado expires within 35 days from the date of application. If the couple fails to solemnize the marriage or return the license within 63 days, even if they do not marry, they will be subject to a minimum late fee of $20 and additional $5 charge for each subsequent day.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Colorado, you must present valid documentation, such as a signed divorce decree, if any previous marriages ended within 30 days of applying for a new marriage license. If it has been more than 30 days, previously married parties must disclose prior marriages, including the place, reason, and date of the end of the marriage.
Can you get married by proxy?
Yes. When one of the parties is absent due to illness, imprisonment, or is out-of-state, he or she can submit an absentee affidavit. The marriage ceremony can then be solemnized in the presence of only one partner.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Colorado?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Colorado.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Colorado. However, you cannot marry a sibling or an ancestor or descendant. For example, an uncle cannot marry a niece, nor can an aunt marry a nephew.
Is Colorado a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriage is recognized in Colorado.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Colorado state or county government, the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.