Search for Garfield County, CO marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Garfield County Marriage License 109 8Th Street, Suite 200 Glenwood Springs CO 81601 970-384-3700
Carbondale Town Hall 511 Colorado Avenue Carbondale CO 81623 970-963-2733
El Jebel County Clerk 225 El Jebel Road Carbondale CO 81623 970-963-1682
Garfield County Clerk 109 8th Street Glenwood Springs CO 81601 970-384-3700
Garfield County Health Department 2014 Blake Avenue Glenwood Springs CO 81601 970-945-6614
Garfield County Health Department 195 14th Street Rifle CO 81650 970-625-5200
Glenwood Springs City Hall 101 8th Street Glenwood Springs CO 81601 970-384-6400
New Castle City Clerk 450 West Main Street New Castle CO 81647 970-984-2311
New Castle Town Hall 450 W Main St New Castle CO 81647 970-984-2311
Rifle City Clerk 202 Railroad Avenue Rifle CO 81650 970-625-2121
Rifle City Hall 1718 Railroad Avenue Rifle CO 81650 970-665-6571
Silt Town Clerk 231 North 7th Street Silt CO 81652 970-876-2353
Silt Town Hall 231 North 7th Street Silt CO 81652 970-876-2353
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 15 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 35 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days, signed divorce decree
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Colorado, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Certain counties allow online marriage license applications. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant, or the couple for self- solemnized marriages, will fill out the marriage license. The couple must submit the signed marriage license to the issuing office within 63 days.
How do I get a marriage license in Garfield County, Colorado?
You will need to visit the county probate judge or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present valid identification documents, and pay a fee. Some counties in Colorado allow online marriage license applications.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Colorado?
The cost to receive a marriage license in Colorado is $30. If you fail to return the marriage license within 63 days of your ceremony, you may be subject to late fees.
How old do you have to be to get married in Garfield County?
You must reach the minimum age of 15 to get married in Colorado. Individuals who are under 18 are required to have parental or guardian consent, and 15-year-olds must also present a court order.