Search for Wyoming marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 1 year
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wyoming, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Wyoming. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority.
How do I get a marriage license in Wyoming?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wyoming?
It costs $30 to receive a marriage license in Wyoming.
How old do you have to be to get married in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Wyoming?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in Wyoming with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The parent must appear in person at the County Clerk's Office to sign a consent form, which must be notarized. Minors who are under the age of 16 can only get married with a court order from a Wyoming District Judge.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Wyoming.
Who can legally marry you in Wyoming?
The state of Wyoming recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as some government officials, such as judges, court commissioners, and justices of the peace. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Wyoming.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Wyoming, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Wyoming?
There is no waiting period to obtain a marriage license in Wyoming. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 1 year.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Wyoming marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Wyoming, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application and you must provide the date of death or divorce on the application.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Wyoming.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Wyoming?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Wyoming.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Wyoming.
Is Wyoming a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Wyoming.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Wyoming state or county government, the Wyoming Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.