Search for Utah marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $40-$50; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Utah, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Utah?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You may be able to fill out the paperwork in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Utah?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $50, depending on the county. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Utah.
How old do you have to be to get married in Utah?
You must reach the minimum age of 15 to get married in Utah. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Utah?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The parent must accompany the minor to the County Clerk's Office, provide photo identification, and sign an oath of consent. In order to marry, 15-year-olds must have the consent of one parent and a court order from the juvenile court. The court may require premarital counseling or impose other conditions before granting a court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Utah.
Who can legally marry you in Utah?
The state of Utah recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as some government officials, such as judges, mayors, county clerks, and the governor. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Utah.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Utah, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Utah?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Utah marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Utah, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application. If the most recent prior marriage ended in divorce or annulment, Utah requires a certified divorce decree or decree of annulment. If a previous marriage ended in death, the applicant must provide the date of death.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Utah.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Utah?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Utah.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. However, it is only legal to marry your first cousin in Utah if both members of the couple are over the age of 65.
Is Utah a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of Utah.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Utah state or county government, the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.