Search for Salt Lake County, UT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Utah Marriage License Bureau Of Vital Records, Utah Department Of Health, 288 North 1460 West, P.O. Box 141012 Salt Lake UT 84114 801-538-6105
Alta Town Hall 10201 Utah 210 Alta UT 84092 801-742-3522
Draper City Hall 1020 Pioneer Road Draper UT 84020 801-576-6500
Herriman City Hall 97 Pioneer Street Herriman UT 84096 801-446-9978
Herriman City Hall 13011 South 6000 West Herriman UT 84096 801-446-5323
Holladay City Hall 4580 S 2300 E Holladay UT 84117 801-272-9450
Midvale City Hall 697 West Center Street Midvale UT 84047 801-566-2073
Murray City Hall 5025 State Street Murray UT 84107 801-264-2664
Riverton City Hall 12830 South Redwood Road Riverton UT 84065 801-254-0704
Salt Lake County Clerk 333 200 East Salt Lake UT 84111 801-535-6300
Salt Lake County Clerk 2001 State Street Salt Lake UT 84190 801-468-3519
Salt Lake County Health Department 3690 Main Street South Salt Lake UT 84115 385-468-4000
Salt Lake County Health Department 610 South 200 East Salt Lake UT 84111 385-468-4225
Salt Lake Valley Health Department 9340 700 East Sandy UT 84070 385-468-4330
Sandy City Hall 10000 S Centennial Pkwy Sandy UT 84070 801-568-7100
South Salt Lake City Hall 220 East Morris Avenue South Salt Lake UT 84115 801-483-6000
Taylorsville City Hall 2600 Taylorsville Boulevard Salt Lake UT 84118 801-963-5400
Taylorsville Health Department 4431 Constitution Boulevard Salt Lake UT 84129 801-965-2401
Utah State Health Department 44 North Medical Drive Salt Lake UT 84113 801-584-8284
West Jordan City Hall 8000 South Redwood Road West Jordan UT 84088 801-569-5000
West Jordan Health Department 1740 West 7800 South West Jordan UT 84088 801-569-4360
West Valley City Hall 3600 Constitution Boulevard West Valley UT 84119 801-955-3601
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $40-$50; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 65
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Utah, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Salt Lake County, Utah?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You may be able to fill out the paperwork in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Utah?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $50, depending on the county. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Utah.
How old do you have to be to get married in Salt Lake County?
You must reach the minimum age of 15 to get married in Utah. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.