Search for New Mexico marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $25
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Mexico, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid immediately and does not expire. You can perform a marriage ceremony anywhere in the state of New Mexico. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to record the marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in New Mexico?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Mexico?
It costs $25 to receive a marriage license in New Mexico.
How old do you have to be to get married in New Mexico?
In New Mexico, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in New Mexico?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 years old can get married if they obtain signed parental consent. Parents must provide photo identification that matches the name on the minor's birth certificate. If only one parent provides consent, 16 or 17 year olds can marry with a court order. Individuals who are under 16 years of age can get married with parental consent from both parents as well as a district court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in New Mexico.
Who can legally marry you in New Mexico?
The state of New Mexico recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as some government officials, such as justices of the peace. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in New Mexico.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of New Mexico does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in New Mexico?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. The license is valid as soon as it is issued, and the marriage license does not expire.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
Marriage licenses in New Mexico do not expire. However, they must be filed with the County Clerk's Office within 90 days of the ceremony.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In New Mexico, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. Individuals applying for a marriage license are not required to show proof of divorce, and by signing the license individuals swear that they are not bound to another spouse.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in New Mexico.
Is same-sex marriage legal in New Mexico?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in New Mexico.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in New Mexico.
Is New Mexico a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of New Mexico.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the New Mexico state or county government, the New Mexico Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.