Lea County Marriage Licenses

Search for Lea County NM marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Hobbs City Hall 300 North Turner Street Hobbs NM 88240 575-397-9200


Hobbs Health Department Ste B, 1923 N Dal Paso St Hobbs NM 88240 575-397-2463

Lea County Clerk 5915 North Lovington Highway Hobbs NM 88240 575-392-0312

Lea County Health Department 302 North 5th Street Lovington NM 88260 575-396-2853

Lovington City Hall 214 S Love St Lovington NM 88260 575-396-2884

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $25

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Lea County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New Mexico, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid immediately and does not expire. You can perform a marriage ceremony anywhere in the state of New Mexico. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to record the marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Lea County, New Mexico?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Mexico?

It costs $25 to receive a marriage license in New Mexico.

How old do you have to be to get married in Lea County?

In New Mexico, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.