Grant County Marriage Licenses

Search for Grant County NM marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Bayard City Hall 800 Central Avenue Bayard NM 88023 575-537-3327


Grant County Clerk 1400 U.s. 180 Silver City NM 88061 575-574-0042

Hurley Town Hall 101 Cortez Avenue Hurley NM 88043 575-537-2287

New Mexico State Health Department 2610 North Silver Street Silver City NM 88061 575-538-5318

Santa Clara City Hall 105 Bayard Street Silver City NM 88061 575-537-2443

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $25

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Grant County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New Mexico, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid immediately and does not expire. You can perform a marriage ceremony anywhere in the state of New Mexico. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to record the marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Grant County, New Mexico?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Mexico?

It costs $25 to receive a marriage license in New Mexico.

How old do you have to be to get married in Grant County?

In New Mexico, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.