Search for New Hampshire marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Town or City Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 13 for women and 14 for men with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $50
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Hampshire, both members of the couple must visit a Town or City Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The fee is waived for members of the military. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in New Hampshire?
You will need to visit the Town or City Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide proof of age, a valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Hampshire?
A marriage license costs $50 in New Hampshire. This fee is waived for members of the military.
How old do you have to be to get married in New Hampshire?
Women must reach the minimum age of 13 and men must reach the minimum age of 14 in order to get married in New Hampshire. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in New Hampshire?
Yes. Women who are between the ages of 13 and 18 and men who are between the ages of 14 and 18 can get married with parental consent and the completion of a waiver. Minors are only allowed to marry in New Hampshire if they are residents of the state or are marrying a New Hampshire resident.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in New Hampshire.
Who can legally marry you in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, including judges, justices of the peace, or magistrate judges.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of New Hampshire does not require witnesses for a marriage to be valid.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in New Hampshire?
There is no waiting period for obtaining a marriage license in New Hampshire. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 90 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your New Hampshire marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In New Hampshire, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed, and New Hampshire requires certified proof of the end of prior marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in New Hampshire.
Is same-sex marriage legal in New Hampshire?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in New Hampshire.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in New Hampshire.
Is New Hampshire a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of New Hampshire.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the New Hampshire state or county government, the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.