Search for Connecticut marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Local vital records office or Town Clerk
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but you must apply in the town where one applicant lives or where the couple intends to marry
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 65 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and a certified decree
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Connecticut, both members of the couple must visit the Town Clerk or local vital records office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license is recorded, the couple will receive a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Connecticut?
You will need to visit the local vital records office, typically the Town Clerk, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present photo identification, and pay a fee. In Connecticut, you must apply for a marriage license in the town where at least one applicant lives, or where the couple intends to marry.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a marriage license costs $30, regardless of residency or the city in which the license is obtained.
How old do you have to be to get married in Connecticut?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Connecticut. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge.
Can you get married under 18 in Connecticut?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married with the written consent of a Probate Court Judge. Parental consent is not sufficient for minors to marry in Connecticut.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Connecticut.
Who can legally marry you in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be ordained religious officials and government officials, including judges, justices of the peace, state referees, and magistrates.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Connecticut does not require witnesses for a marriage. However, certain religious organizations may require witnesses as part of their marriage process.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
There is no waiting period for obtaining a marriage license in Connecticut. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 65 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Connecticut marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Connecticut, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed and Connecticut requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Connecticut.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Connecticut?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Connecticut.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Connecticut.
Is Connecticut a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized in Connecticut.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Connecticut state or county government, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.